MLG Raleigh

I went to Major League Gaming Raleigh last weekend and competed. It was something I wanted to do for the longest and I’m glad I was able to go.

When I walked in. It looked so different than when I saw it at DigitalLife. Back then MLG had a tiny corner of the floor. The fighting game section in Raleigh alone makes it would swallow the DigitalLife space. There were also booths from Bic, Mad Catz, Dr. Pepper and a few more. Not as many booths at PAX or NYCC though.

I entered SoulCalibur V. I spent the pre-tournament time practicing. It good to be playing at the stations. Plus some players

When it was time for me to play I had to play Belial, one of the best Russian SoulCalibur players. It was really bad for me results-wise. But I did have fun.

I “snuck” into the League of Legends section and found MrsViolence and MLG pioneer Tsquared. I met Kelly a few times but was my first time meeting Tom. The duo asked if I knew I knew what was going on in the game I told him I that knew a little about the game (knew nothing about LOL).

Up were the final matches for SoulCalibur. It was very exciting. Even Tsquared watched (I walked him through one of the matches). All those matches were extremely exciting. A lot of down the wire moments. There was some bracket controversy, which I won’t go into detail about. Glad Ramon placed 2nd for New York. Xephukia did great winning it.

I was to leave MLG early for because of work. But I checked out the final day on my phone. That was when I found out that the 1st and 2nd place League of Legends teams were caught colluding and got disqualified. Sad. Something similar happened in Super Smash Bros Brawl. Those players got banned and the game got dropped. It’s sad that there are still players out there trying to pull a fast on everybody.

Leave a Reply

